Digital Terrestrial Television Broadcasting (DTTB)

Digital Terrestrial Television Broadcasting (DTTB) was soft launched by MCML on 12 March 2003 with one digital multiplex containing five digital television channels using DVB-T/MPEG2.

The official launch was carried out on 30 September 2005. A near 100% coverage of the whole island with twenty relay stations was completed in May 2006, prior to World Cup 2006.

Mauritius was the first country in Africa to provide digital terrestrial television to the whole population. There are actually three digital multiplexes operational and they include seventeen MBC TV channels on a 24/7 basis and one independent TV channel for the live broadcast of the National Assembly proceedings.

Discussions are ahead to move to DVB-T2 and HEVC in order to telecast a few MBC TV channels in high definition (HD) using a fourth digital multiplex.

Rodrigues and Agalega are also in digital mode with six relay stations in Rodrigues and one station in Agalega.

It is worthwhile to emphasise that, apart from being the “sole terrestrial radio and television transmission provider’, MCML is also the sole digital multiplex operator following the amendment to the IBA Act 2000 in April 2016.

Skip to content
Copyright © 2024 Multi Carrier (Mauritius) Ltd | Developed and Hosted by Government Online Centre